why I hate romantic novels

Damn Aditya, back at it again with alienating people!

Hear me out, I do not hate love in stories or in real life. I probably would encourage anyone who wants to include a romantic sub-plot in their novels. But what I don’t like is poorly written books that sell only on the basis of the romance depicted in it.

Now I realize that not all romantic genre books are poorly written books and they might have some classics in there. And I also realize that I am not a target audience for it but when you see that at least in my country, it is one of the most common genres ever written, it really grinds my gears.

It does not require any imagination and planning like Fantasy or intellectual design like thriller or research like historical fiction or sci-fi, it doesn’t even (usually) have a social message either. Then What is it for?

I get how it goes for the relativity angle. But if i wanted to read something that reminded me of my real life, I would not read anything and continue living my life.

But that is not the point of this post, the point is, these lowest common denominator novels get published because they will sell a lot more instead of books that honestly deserve being published. Books that may reform the society, provide refuge to the damaged, capture imaginations or inform.

Instead we get more of the same overly-used plot.

3 thoughts on “why I hate romantic novels

  1. Agreed! I actually really like romance but after picking up and dropping all these lousy, same-plotted,boring romance books, i just stopped. It’s been years since i last read a romance book and i’m really afraid of picking one up now. :/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is very interesting, thanks for sharing.
    I found your little space in the community pool, so glad I did!! amazing write up!!!keep writing and inspire us…. surely will be waiting for more!!
    Please do visit my blog for exciting recipes, I recently started my blog, and would love some feedback, thanks in advance and see you there! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

